top of page
検索
  • 執筆者の写真Kyoko Akimoto

About 'A Rehearsal for Not Knowing' project


My project explores how people in London and Tokyo react or do not react consciously when encountering homeless people asking for money.

Whilst commuting by the London Overground, I encountered homeless people begging quite often. I grew up in Tokyo but had never been asked for change on the train or the street face-to-face. Every time I met a person asking for money, I found myself in an uncomfortable dilemma and, afraid of making a mistake, did nothing. I presume many of the other quiet passengers on the Overground experienced anxiety as well.


The discomfort from 'not knowing' motivated this project.

I have attempted to create a moment that disrupts routinized behaviour patterns and opens up the possibility of fully human communication. I also set up a blog to record the stories I experienced on the streets: these stories represent a chain of ongoing events in the project.


Discomfort on the London Overground


In September 2019, I moved to London to study. One day I was on a London Overground train on my way home from Goldsmiths, University of London, located near New Cross Gate station. A man stood up and asked for change. While I could not hear his exact words, it was apparent that he was asking for money. I wanted to react but did not know what to do. I glanced at the other passengers. There was no reaction. I kept my head down and followed the other passengers. I found it shocking that people, including me, ignored someone like this and wondered how he felt in his situation and how the other passengers felt.


I was surprised at what had happened because, although I knew many homeless people beg on the street, I did not know that some homeless people ask for money on the trains. Moreover, I had never been addressed by a homeless person before. It was the first time I had lived abroad and I had not yet settled down to commuting. When I noticed the homeless man, I had no idea what to do, so I looked at the ground and glanced surreptitiously at how the other passengers were reacting to him. Nobody did anything. I followed their example. The homeless man started asking each passenger one by one. However, the passengers remained silent. I felt nervous and afraid and I wanted this awkward situation to pass quickly. However, he passed me without asking. I was relieved not to have to react to him face-to-face but also embarrassed because I felt that he had not treated me as an adult; it was as if I did not belong here in the UK. He moved to the next carriage and started begging again. This was my first encounter with homeless people on the Overground.




閲覧数:8回0件のコメント

最新記事

すべて表示
bottom of page