top of page
検索
  • 執筆者の写真Kyoko Akimoto

Notes on the Overground: 24/1/2020

On the Overground on my way home, a lady stood in front of passengers and asked us for change or food. She repeated ‘for apologies’ in a husky voice. I took off my I-pod and looked at her. I could not decide whether I should give her change or not, and did not. She turned back, but no one gave her anything. I still did nothing.


I went back to New Cross Gate to collect something I had forgotten at the studio. On my return, I encountered her on the train again and felt annoyed to see her asking repeatedly. I had been tired to settle down to new place and it was not easy for me to care for other things. I felt like I have been tested many times as I met her again by chance.This time, a lady sitting in front of me took out her purse and gave some change to her.


The homeless woman looked to be aged in her 20s and was very thin, with short blond hair and wearing a hood. She carried a small bag of crisps under her arm and her flat black sneakers had no laces. She got off the train at Shadwell, and so did I. I could see that she was almost crying. I could not help thinking how miserable and lonely I would feel in her situation.


She walked in front of me to change back to the southbound train, and stopped on the stairs to count her change. I could not stop myself from talking to her. I walked up to her and gave her a little money and asked her whether she knew about shelters. She responded that she did but there were too many homeless people, so she could not get into one. I could not say anything more. I said, ‘Hope things go well’ and touched her left upper arm. I could not help her, but I wanted at least to tell her that someone cared. I found many big red rashes on her face. She replied to me in a small voice, ‘Thank you, madam.’

閲覧数:2回0件のコメント

最新記事

すべて表示
bottom of page