top of page
検索
  • 執筆者の写真Kyoko Akimoto

A speech and an announcement on the Overground: 14/2/2020

14th February 2020


I could hear someone homeless spoke to passengers in the next car. After a while, a white man in his fifties with a worn sleeping bag, entered the car I was in, and made a long speech about the Whitechapel mission and paying taxes. This was a quite a striking action, because TFL (Transport for London) provides an announcement as follows:


'To help someone you see homeless or asking for money, please donate to ‘Whitechapel Mission’. Any donation will be used carefully, and your generosity will be welcomed.'


TFL Passengers see and hear this announcement many times on board. However, As Butler (2005) asserts, ethical action always needs the presence of “I”; however, “I” is created from one’s relation to a series of social norms. In asking the ethical question, “How should I treat another?”, this “I” always exists in relation to a concrete “you”.


His clothes did not look pretty, yet he dared to say 'Care me. Small donation please.' in bold voice. His speech was shocking and striking for me, because I have never imagined homeless man speaks in compelling tone about himself and the situation towards homeless people. In asking the ethical question, "How should I react someone in front of me asking for money", his/her physical presence emotionally appeals our decision-making. I imagine and judge the feelings, situation and sometimes the personality of the homeless from the way they stand, walk and talk.


He spoke at length and drew more attention from passengers. A few passengers gave him change.









Whitechapel Mission website

閲覧数:3回0件のコメント

最新記事

すべて表示
bottom of page